Another Great Weekend In the Books

We had a truly relaxing weekend. Most importantly, thank you to all of those in our military, and their families, who have given and sacrificed so much for us to be able to enjoy such freedom. We honor you.

This was our first 3-day weekend home, with no plans, in more months than I can remember. It was great! From Friday night pizza night to a special dinner on Sunday to lots of water table fun today, it was just as I had hoped it would be.

Recipe Roundup

First thing is first – recipes from this weekend!

On Saturday we repeated the Asian Turkey Burgers with Spicy Lime Mayo because they are just that yummy. On the side we had mezgaldi, or Moroccan spiced onions. They were very, very yummy!

Sunday brunch was these crispy breakfast pitas by Giada DeLaurentis that I had seen her make on the Today show. Whoa. Really, really good! Might have had two. oops. Remind me of that on Wednesday when I whine about gaining weight this week. But seriously, what a special, different treat. These could be breakfast, brunch, or any time of day. Simple, easy, but delicious flavor combination.

We had some leftover pizza for lunch (well, Girl ate most of mine!), and then I went all out for dinner. I made Crockpot Kalua Pork (I put it in the crockpot Saturday night before we went to bed), and served it with pineapple shrimp fried rice. And oh yes – I served it in the carved out pineapple halves like the picture. I’m getting good in my old age!

The rice was outstanding, but the pork was lacking for me. Nothing a little Cajun Power couldn’t fix, but next time I do it I will add the cajun power to it while cooking to boost the flavor and keep the meat more juicy. But together, served on the pineapple half – oh yeah, it was pretty damn awesome.

Family Fun

Now, just a few images of sheer fun from the weekend.

(hmm. Boy seems to have ducked the camera a lot this weekend. Will make up for that later this week!)

Leave a Reply

